Tuesday, November 9, 2010

Dietary Guidelines for Americans

The Dietary Guidelines for Americans are a set of recommendations and advice for people two years of age and older, about how good dietary choices can promote health and reduce the risk of diabetes, hart disease, and other chronic diseases. The guidelines are updated every 5 years and issued jointly by the Departments of Agriculture (USDA) and Health and Human Services (HHS). 

The 2005 Dietary Guidelines
The Dietary Guidelines for Americans, which are the cornerstone of Federal nutrition policy and nutrition education activities are in effect until the 2010 Dietary Guidelines are published. 

Here is a synopsis of the Dietary Guidelines. Use this information to make decisions about what to eat or feed your family from day to day. Pay special attention to the recommendation for limiting foods with added sugars, trans fat, saturated fat, refined carbohydrates and large amounts of salt.

Summary of Key Recommendations 
  • Eat a variety of nutrient-dense foods from the basic food groups. 
  • Limit foods that are high in saturated fat, trans fat and cholesterol.
  • Limit intake of foods that are high in sugar. 
  • Limit foods that are high in salt. 
  • Limit alcohol intake. 
Dietary Guidelines for Americans 2005